Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award / Prix Littéraire - Le Choix des Jeunes.

20 for 20 Campaign

This year, 2019, marks the 20th anniversary of the Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Award.

For 20 years Hackmatack has been putting great Canadian books in the hands of Atlantic Canadian children, who read the shortlisted fiction and nonfiction titles and vote for their favourites, thereby determining the winners of the Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Award.

Each spring we’ve been able to send a number of Hackmatack nominated authors on tour to libraries and schools in the Atlantic region in the week leading up to our Award ceremony.

For many children, this is their first encounter with “a real live author”, and we’re thrilled to be able to make such a valuable connection.

In January we celebrated our 20 year milestone with the Hackmatack “20 for 20” campaign. A number of authors, publishers, and community members donated $20 (or more!) to help us send authors to schools and libraries. We’re deeply grateful for their support, and we’d like to recognize them here.

Individual Donors

Caroline Adderson
Catherine Austen
François Barcelo
Kristin Bieber Domm
Denis Boucher
Édith Bourget
Hugh Brewster
Paul Burns
George Elliott Clarke
Jan L. Coates
Stacey Cornelius
Charis Cotter
Orysia Dawydiak
Linda DeMeulemeester
Véronique Drouin
Sarah Emsley
L.M. (Lucy) Falcone
Ray Fernandes
Melanie Florence
Luc Gelinas
Vivien Gorham
Linda Granfield
Elise Gravel
Daphne Greer
Sylvia Gunnery
Joann Hamilton-Barry

Deborah Hodge
Alison Hughes
Anna Kerz
Barbara Kissick
Rob Laidlaw
Martine Latulippe
Dorothy Leslie
Jennifer McGrath
Sharon E. McKay
Gina McMurchy-Barber
Jill MacLean
Ron and Mary Macnab
Mireille Mercure
Kenneth Oppel
Sharon Palermo
Anne Renaud
Sophie Rondeau
Marilyn Smulders
Robin Stevenson
Kathy Stinson
Diane Swanson
Ian Wallace
Marianne Ward
Kate Watson
Irene Watts
Susan White


Bouton d’or Acadie
Éditions Druide
Éditions de l’isatis
Groupe d’Edition la Courte Echelle
Les Éditions 400 coups

Nimbus Publishing
Owlkids Books
Running the Goat Books & Broadsides
Soulières éditeur
The Acorn Press

Special Dedications

Martha Attema — in honour of Canadian children’s literature
Anonymous — in memory of Raymond E. Lèger
Anomymous — in memory of Marie-Thérèse Cardinal, “Pour tout ce que tu as fait pour moi…”
Anonymous — in memory of Mary Schultz, “For teaching me to love books!”

Anonymous Donors

Finally, we’d like to thank 16 supporters who prefer to remain anonymous.

It’s not too late to donate!

You can donate to the Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Award anytime. Visit our page at CanadaHelps to donate online, or send a cheque to the address below. Thank you for supporting great Canadian books, their authors, and the children who love them!

Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Award
PO Box 34055
Scotia Square RPO
Halifax, NS
B3J 3S1

Celebrating 20 years.